Thursday, August 18, 2011

Ultimate Marvel Vs. Capcom 3

A lot of people are upset at Capcom for making Ultimate Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 only a few months after the original came out. I am upset also but at the end of the day, Capcom is a bussiness and the only thing a business has to worry about is making money. A bunch of people will buy UMvC and enjoy it. I will pass up on thsi becuase I wasn't a huge fan of the normal one. I will problly only rent it but I do not see myself playing it much after that. More about the game after the jump.



Thursday, March 17, 2011

BioWare is in trouble again

BioWare is making gaming headlines with its wacky antics again. If banning you for talking bad about them wasn't enough, now they are posting fake reviews on dragon age 2. Rumors that companies (even movie and music) have been buying reviewers have been going around for a while now but I felt I could trust customer reviews...

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Chun li Fight stick review ( vs pad)

This is the stick I bought.
I haven't been playing fighters for long, besides the occasional match of Soul Caliber 2 with friends back in the day, I just really got into them, about a year ago my friends bought me Super Street Fighter 4 for a birthday gift. I had a ton of fun with the game (ranking in over 400 hours of play time).  I was always using the PS3 controller, I never wanted to invest into a fighting stick however.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Quick Update about Marvel 3

Good news for PS3 owners who bought the special collectors edition for Marvel vs. Capcom 3, Jill and Shuma are now available for download! Just go to the PSN Store and in put the code on the back of the comic. For everyone else you will be able to get it later today PSN store updates around 6 in the evening and the 360 one should be up in a few hours.

Saturday, March 12, 2011

World of Warcraft was uninstalled successfully


Now if you'll excuse me, I'll have to start putting the shards of my life back together.

Trolling is now a crime and they take away your games!

Over on BioWare's Dragon Age 2  forums, A poster named Arno got banned. Not really a big problem, we all have been banned from things in the past. but this gentleman was locked out form playing is games. Arno was upset because he felt like Dragon Age 2 was rushed and he was upset on of the comments he left was, "“Have you sold your souls to the EA devil?". He was banned for 72 hours for saying this comment. But not only from the forum, but it seems his entire EA account. Arno can't play the 1st Dragon Age because he bought DLC and since he can't log on his account the game thinks he pirated the DLC. EA tried to give the old "Its part of out terms and use agreement." Regardless its still bull that they did that to him.

I know this update was kinda short and it has been a while since i posted anything but I've been really busy. I promise ill have more next week.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Want to know what's really killing the video game industry?

Pre-orders,
Once a developer shows a few pictures or videos, snippets of gameplay that 'looks' fun, all morons grab thier wallets out and throw money at them. They already know how many they're going to sell before they even finish developing. Pre orders allow them to be lazy. Once they know they already have your money, why the heck bother polishing the game? This is especially apparent with sequels. So you unoriginal shooter? Well here comes a sequel! -- And instantly, without any indication that the game is going to be good, millions of retards throw their money away.
 There is no need to pre-order games months before it even gets a release date. Give me one good reason why you need to have a video game, the very first day it gets announced, Trust me Gamestop isn't going to say "sorry out of pre-orders" a week before it comes out.

Therefore: stop pre ordering games MONTHS BEFORE it comes out.

Oh, and don't blame piracy. Piracy is just a scapegoat that developers use when they can't admit they made a crappy product that isn't even worth the disc it's copied on, more on piracy next rant post

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 Review



I know I'm a little late on the Marvel Vs. Capcom 3 review, but my copy shipped late (thanks Capcom Store.) So far I’ve played about 200 matches online and I’m really enjoying the game. 

This is the hardest single
move in the game.

MvC3 has a great fighting engine. Every fighter feels different and has their own tactics for battle. The 3 on 3 battles are fun some teams work better than others based on what special moves and assists they have. You'll probably first start to pick characters you like then start to replace them with ones that better suit your fighting style. The game uses six buttons in total, light, medium, and hard attacks, 2 buttons to call in your partners, and one air launcher attack. Moves are easy to pull off with the hardest input being left-down-corner then an attack button. The advanced combos on the other hand are very hard to memorize and pull off perfectly. One new feature of this one is a move called "X-factor", if you hit all the attack buttons you'll get a buff which will give you like triple the damage. I can say that the x-factor is one of the cheapest things in any video game I've played. I've been able to beat an entire team with all of the fighter’s life at about half without much trouble with x-factor.



Get used to seeing this alot if
If you like playing with friends.



The online portion of the game needs a lot of work. Trying to connect to a match from the online menu just gives you a ton of "connection fail" errors. When you are in a lobby you have to watch the fighters player cards hump each other while you do nothing. Capcom says they will put in the spectator mode later but I have no idea why they didn't put it in the game to begin with. Also you can't save replays, Super Street Fighter 4 had this so why not MvC3? However once you get into a match and start fighting it works really well. I can only remember a few times that a game had lag and only once or twice when it would cause problems and drop the match I was in.

Even a simple kick to the face has a
awesome flash!
The graphics in this game have a comic book type of feel to them (epically the main menu backgrounds).  The game have nice effects of fire, ice and thunder which all look like they are coming alive while still staying 60 frames per second. The lighting effects are also crazy whether you’re doing a Shinkuu Hadouken or summoning fire from your hands, fighters have shadows and glows. The endings for the fighters are kind of disappointing, just a few still images with text are all you get. I wish they were done in the same style that the opening was but making endings for the 35+ fighters would have been costly.


The audio is hit or miss however, it is a massive improvement over MvC2. One problem I have with MvC3, as well as most fighters in general, is that every time your fighter does a special move they reuse the same screaming voice clip over and over again.  Music fairs better than the voices. Every fighter has their own theme that will play when they are brought into the fight. The themes range from a wide verity of styles and even a few with vocals. There are a few I didn't like but luckily, if you have the xbox 360 version you can import your own music.  The sound effects are hit or miss also. Ice sounds like actually ice hitting the ground and shattering. The guns are kind of "fake" sounding and don't sound like real guns.


If you haven't bought the game yet and not really into fighters I would say skip this and if your itching to play a fighter go buy Super Street Fighter 4 for 20 bucks. I'm willing to beat Capcom will release a Super version of this game in a year or so, wait for that if you’re not in a rush to play it. I'm having a ton of fun with this game but chances are if you don't have it now you can probably wait for the "super" version.